How important is high fps when shooting baseball?

ufjamolei

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am purchasing my first DSLR and am hung up on a few details when deciding between the Nikon D90 and Canon 40D. I plan to shoot a considerable amount of college baseball, so I am wondering how truly important fps is? The D90 shoots 4.5 fps and the 40D shoots 6.5 fps, should this be a huge deciding factor for me? Please keep in mind that I am a total noob so I may be overlooking another key spec important for shooting baseball. Thanks for your help!

all that means is if you set the camera into continuous s hooting it will take pictures faster.. which i suppose yes, could be an important factor
the 6.5 will take a total of... guess what... 6 - 7 images every second meaning you could track the ball (if you learn to pan and follow it)
i have never seen how quick a 6.5 goes but my 450D shoots at 3.5 frames per second, i personally feel this is sufficient, only people who really want that killer shot use fast FPS e.g. in american football, if they want to capture the moment the ball leaves the guys hand they will start shooting as he prepares to throw (with canon 1D mkIII usually as it is 10fps, compared to Nikon D3's 9fps xP.)
so really depends on what you want to do e.g. if you wanna catch the ball hit the bat (with no space between them) then yes possibly
but you have to ensure your High iso noise reduction is turned off to get the full speed otherwise it lags allot...

e.g. when i first got my camera and tried continuous shooting it would go (* = shoot - = lag)

but upon disabling high iso noise reduction (which is rubbish anyway)
it now goes
*******************-*******-******-******-******-***--***-*--*---

(not how it really goes but an example as close as i can get to it)

Last edited:
If you know the game you won't need to do bursts very often.