How much better is D7100 over D5500 really?

darkblue-x

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
If anyone were to give me a critical analysis on the subject question.

To give some background, I am an amateur and feel like I have outgrown my D3300.
I have used a D5500 before and liked it (at least over the d3x00 series)--but I wasn't aware of the functions on it at the time to make an educated comparison to the D7100 that I just picked up today.

At first glance the D7100 seems to have quite the different format to the D3300 and D5500 alike.

Could someone present an argument as to which one is the better camera (ei. more useful functions, ease of use, features and specs)...?

Kind regards,

Chris

D7100 Pro's
Most important a better 51 focus point system
Better made body
Weather sealed
Second command dial
In body focus motor
6fps or 7fps in crop mode vs 5 on D5500
100% optical coverage vs 95%
Bigger battery
Minimum focus sensitivity -2ev vs -1ev
Pentaprism vs Pentamirror

Main advantage of D5500
Swivel touch screen

D7100 Pro's
Better made body
Weather sealed
Second command dial
In body focus motor
Bigger battery

Main advantage of D5500
Swivel touch screen

D7100 has faster shutter 1/8000, .94 viewfinder magnification (d5500 .82), D7100 has better screen by nearly 20% pixels, D5500 is touch screen though, D7200 up to 5 frames exposure bracketing vs. 3 on D5500, D5500 has higher frame rate in max video.

As mentioned above the D7100 has the focus motor in the body. So it can use older AF lenses, and the new ones that still require body focusing motor.