How often do you use manual settings

Boomn4x4

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Assuming we are stying on topic and speaking to "BEGINNERS"... how often do you use manual settings for your photography? As a beginner, I ALWAYS use the automatic mode if I'm shooting anything that I know I want to be a "keeper" Family portraits, vacations, kids sporting events, etc. The only time I use any of the manual modes is if I'm playing around... And even then, I don't find myself ever getting better shots in manual mode than if I had done it in automatic.

Am I off in assuming that these manual settings are for a more advanced group, or am I missing out as a beginner?

I use aperture mode the most.

I shoot P mode most of the time unless I'm looking for a specific effect such as bokeh or prolonged exposure, then I'll go manual and rely on the light meter.

If you take a shot in Auto mode. And then use the same settings in manual mode. The result is the same.

Manual or Auto, it doesn't really matter. What matter is whether you can get the desire result or not.

There are situations that Auto may not work correctly. For example, take a photo of a moon at night. In Auto mode, the camera MAY think the scene is too dark so it end up with a overexposed moon.

Another example is you work with flashs/stobes. Also if you want consistency. It is better with manual mode.

For me, I use Aperture Priority most of the time. And then Manual or Shutter Priority mode if needed.

^^ +1 to what Dao said.

f4, ISO 100, 1/200sec in aperture priority mode, shutter priority mode, full auto mode and full manual mode will produce exactly the same image. However to get to those setting very different things happen in each mode and that is where the strength of each mode is.