How on earth do you make a decision??!!

3of11

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I can't believe how hard it is to decide on what DSLR to get. I think I would be very satisfied with the XT, but why not spend a little more and get the XTi? And once I decide on the XTi, why not spend a little more and go to the 30D? And then when I am there I can't help but think of spending just a little more to get the 40D!!! I, being a beginner, don't really know how strongly to look on all the bells and whistles that the more expensive cameras have. Is the self cleaning lens something that is really important? When does the 6.5 fps really come in handy? I don't think I need anything too fancy now, but if I really get into photography will I want to invest in a better camera? I guess it is the whole debate between buying the better one now so that you don't have to invest later, or buying the cheaper one now because I am just beginning and don't know how far I am actually going to go. Any input would be great to read.

What is your budget and what are your goals with the camera?

You can stop at the 30D. The sensor cleaner is pretty much garbage on most DSLR's and a $10 blower works 10x's better. You can find a new 30D for about $700 for the body and a used with accessories for about $600. Kit lens + 50mm f/1.8 = about $180.

The XXD series, even as far back as the 20D's are a lot more user friendly than the rebel series imo. The rebels lack a few things, the scroll wheel being on of the biggest imo. I hate having to go into the menu to change iso and then having to hold down an additional button to change the aperture where as the XXD's all have dedicated controls.