how to freeze pictures with low lighting and no flash...???

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by dmbfoto, Apr 2, 2009.

1. dmbfoto

dmbfoto TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    hey everyone! my girlfriend is a composer so ill be taking a lot of pictures at her shows, but there can't be any flash what so ever, and since im new to this, i can't seem to figure out how to freeze the photo and they always end up very blurry since everyone is moving. any suggestions? would putting it on the setting for action pictures (sports) do that or does that automatically flash? any help is appreciated, thank you!

2. Ins3rtNam3H3r3

Ins3rtNam3H3r3 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    The only thing you can do in this situation is bump up the ISO and shoot in S mode with the fastest shutter speed possible without the pictures being underexposed.

3. dmbfoto

dmbfoto TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Ok, I'll do that next time. Thanks! :)

4. Josh66

Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You will need fast glass and good high ISO performance. Not sure how the D40 is with high ISO (Canon guy), but if the 18-55 kit lens is all you have - a fast prime (something like a 50mm f/1.4) will open up some options for you.

5. dmbfoto

dmbfoto TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    the ISO only goes up to 1600 and something called H1, which I'm not sure what that is. Is that the "highest one"? LOL, I'm kidding..unless that's what it means. :)

And, correct me if I'm wrong, but my lens is f/3.5-5.6..so that means the f won't go lower than 3.5 right? Thanks!

6. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    That's correct. You will need a fast lens (F1.8, F1.4 etc) and use a high ISO setting. Also, make sure that you set your exposure for your subject and not include a lot of the dark areas around her (if there are any).

7. Big Mike