How to price prints?

sdreitlein

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I am a hobbyist when it comes to photography. That said, I do invest a great deal of time and money into this hobby and if I could figure out how to make "my kind" of photography (landscapes/travel) into an actual career I would in a heartbeat.

In recent years I have been making calendars as gifts and am finding several people inquiring about purchasing prints. Its not just my friends, but people they now as well, businesses such as health care offices included. I am very interested in dealing with these contacts though I am unsure how to charge fairly- where I am not overcharging, but still getting a fair price for my work.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated. A sampling of my images can be found at https://picasaweb.google.com/104418897088623569371/Sampling#

you have some STUNNING images. definitely professional worthy content.

make your first prints on a per print basis. you can either choose to standardize your printing price, or charge more for the prints of your better work.

Id do a run of one size like 20x16 and sell those. if theres enough interest in other sizes, then sell those as well.

Personally if someone asks me for a print I'll consider how much it costs me to print the image (lets say 25 bucks for the 20x16) and then double or tripple the amount. 75-125 dollars really isnt all that much to pay for a top quality image. once you make a proper name for yourself, you can sell them for more. also try and grab a spot at an art exhibit; you can sell many prints from attending even one.

I think you need to sit down a figure out a few thing before deciding on your prices.