how to reduce fisheye effect

JohnnyD5446

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone :thumbup:,

I am a PhD student at Columbia University and need some photography help. My project involves using yeast as a model to study human cancers. Part of the project involves conducting high-throughput screens on rectangular agar plates. When the screens are finished we use to scan the plates into the computer (with a high end flatbed scanner) in order to automatically analyze them. However we would like to instead take pictures of our plates with a digital camera as it is faster and reduces glare.

The current setup involves placing the plates on a light box, mounting a digital camera on a stand 1-3 feet above the plates, and quickly snapping pictures.

The problem I am currently facing is a fisheye effect (see attached photo). In order to automate the analysis process there can be no fisheye. How can I reduce this effect? Also, we would like to reduce vignetting as much as possible.

Right now i am using a crappy Canon Powershot, but my lab is willing to upgrade to any camera required to make this work.

I know nothing about photography, but am eager to learn and would really appreciate any suggestions.

check out a sample picture at http://www.rothsteinlab.com/graphics/P1040447.JPG (2.5 mb)

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

As a quick fix, you could try mounting the camera farther away from the plate, and then increasing the focal length (zoom).

Well to start with how big is the plate?. Also did they give you a budget? or do you at least know what they might find as an acceptable spending limit?.

This is called barrel distortion and is caused by being too close to the subject. Your camera can't really handle your level of zoom that close up.

Big Mike's solution works, if you're not already at max zoom. Otherwise you'll probably indeed need to upgrade your equipment. What model powershot are you currently using?