How to replicate this style

manthonyphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys,

I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on how the images on this website are created. If you go here:

Weddings

You will notice that the first post of pictures has an unbelievably gorgeous quality of light to them. If you continue to browse the different postings, this lighting is pervasive throughout. I am an aspiring wedding photographer and before I saw this website this is exactly the style I had in mind for my brand. So my question is this:

1. How are they creating this light? The sun is visible in many frames, yet the subject (bride/groom) is not underexposed. Are they using massive reflectors to bounce the sun back toward their subjects? Are they using gigantic studio strobes set behind equally gigantic diffusers to overpower the ambient light?

Thank you so much for your responses!

IMO the first photo has an overexposed, blown out sky. Is that what you are referring to?

Photoshop -- Photoshop ------- Photoshop
Seriously, Photoshop has tools that can manipulate all the elements of the photos. Some of the effects are done with lighting on scene but with the large areas in most of those photos I'd say Photoshop, or a similar program, was used in post-processing.

I suppose the sky is blown out in a lot of these pictures. I'm referring specifically to the bottom right image in this link.

Connection_Photography_ChurchRuins19.jpg

How are the subjects so well lit and yet the sky is not as blown out as it seems like it should be for how well the subjects are exposed.

Get a Canon 50mm prime, so you can get this kind of ever-so-slightly hashy, vibrating, nervous bokeh when shot at wide apertures, as seen here: Connection_Photography_NC3.jpg