How to: Shoot skateboarding

maxbennett

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
this is my first tutorial, i hope it may inspire people to get involved in the skate scene, or help someone who's having troubles with their skate photography. feel free to add on or ask questions.

-max

how to take better skateboarding photos:

i've been shooting skate photos for a few years now, but not very often. here's 5 tips that might help out if you want to get into it, or all your photos turn out bad when you shoot:

1. shutter speed*
make sure the shutter speed is very fast (1/200 or faster), especially if the skater is going very fast. if it's too dark to have a small shutter speed, use a flash (it may seem too bright to have a flash, but it's vital to have a small shutter speed).

2. angle
make sure ahead of time where and what the skater is doing. plan out what the angle is, and don't move the camera*. make sure that the angle includes both the start, and the landing of the trick. don't be afraid to be in the way (not completely, but photos will often turn out better if the shot is low, and close to the landing), as long as you're standing up, and you have more then enough time to get out of the way. also: no butt-shots, and no heads cut off. it never hurts to ask the skater to pose where they're going to be to make sure your angle won't cut off their head.

note: a fisheye lens will help you out a LOT with your angle. it's almost a must in skate photography

3. timing
sometimes people spend all their time thinking about the angle and exposure and end up shooting the skater rolling up about to do their trick, or just about to land. if it's a trick in the air, make sure you shoot either
a) at their highest point