How to take accurate picture of leaf/plant with true color

Status
Not open for further replies.

minhduy512

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a total beginner to photography. My job usually involves taking picture of plants/leaves on a black background. We have a Canon EOS 450D with a Tamron SP AF 17-50mm XR Di II LD len. As I tried out several times with the auto mode and close-up mode on the camera, the color of the leaves on the pictures doesn't seem to be accurate. They tend to have a more yellowish color than the real leaves. I think the flash light has something to do with it, as occasionally when the flash didn't burn, the picture seemed to have a better color. I think maybe using the manual mode with a correct setting would allow taking the true color of the leaves, but I don't know how to set it. Is there anyone with experience in taking pictures of leaves/plants who can help me?

Digital Photography Tutorials
The first 7 tutorials will be most pertinent to you now. Soon however, you would want to be familiar with all the subjects in the list of tutorials.

To have any hope of accurate colors you need to make sure the camera white balance is set accurately.
To do that you need to use a gray card.
Having the grey card in one shot of each leaf is then used to set the white balance post process using your image editing application.

In whatever editing application you view the photos in you would want the workspace to use the ProPhoto RGB color space, because it has a color gamut broad enough to represent all the colors today's digital cameras can capture.
If you're using the sRGB or Adobe RGB color space you're not seeing all the colors.

Last edited:
Hi ad welcome to the forum!
Instead of a grey card you can also use a white piece of paper if you are on a budget. But a grey card has some advantages.