How/where to plan outings with limited time?

RobiSuicide

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I'm a beginner, and looking to take lots of pictures. Problem is between work, and a baby I don't seem to have much time to do-so, and when I do it's difficult to find subjects. I try to take my camera everywhere I go, but sadly I don't go anywhere exciting very often. How do you guys plan your outings? I mainly want to work on nature shots, portraits, and macro photography. Also being relatively poor I'm stuck with my stock 18-55 lens, and on board flash.

How old is the baby? It gets easier as they get older. If baby is under a year I HIGHLY recommend a baby carrier like an ergo or a boba and then you can just drag baby along on your nature hunts without getting in the way and hasseling with a stroller. parks, easy trails, and the zoo are all kid friendly places with many photo opportunities.
Practice on baby! Macro is a little tougher without a telephoto or macro lens, so I would focus on the nature and portriays first.
If all you have is an on camera flash, try to find a way to modify it. You can diffuse it, or rig up something to bounce it off another surface.

You don't necessarily have to go far to find things to photograph- you just have to look a little harder and think

She's 6 months. I've been really wanting to get a carrier as it would make a lot of things much easier. Used to use a sling, but she's already twenty pounds! I've gotten lots of practice with the baby, and got some decent shots, but I haven't had much practice with actually setting up lighting, and mainly use window light. I rarely use flash since I can't point it to bounce off the ceiling, but I've diffused it with toilet paper when I absolutely have to use it.

^With some pink blankets and a teddy inside it might be doable, but I'm not sure the wife would approve.