How Would You Set Your Wedding Photo Prices for ... Your Boss?

astrostu

I shoot for the stars
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know there are a jillion wedding photo pricing threads, including one of my own, but I'm hoping that this one is slightly different enough to at least garner a few helpful responses.

Anyway, I'm a grad student, 5th year, been working with my advisor since 2007. I'm in astronomy -- photography is just a hobby. He knows I've shot one wedding on my own and has seen the photos. He also knows I did that one for free. He's getting married this Sept. and he asked me around October last year - just after I got back and was swearing I would never do another wedding for free - if I would shoot his. I told him yes, but that I would charge him.

Fast-forward to now, and I'm meeting with him and the bride-to-be hopefully the first weekend of April to go over a contract, discuss what coverage they want, get the important names, dates, places, etc. And figure out a price.

My question is, should the fact that I have relatively little experience (which he KNOWS, as I have asked him and the fiancé four times to make sure they're okay with going with me) AND ESPECIALLY that he's effectively my boss have any bearing on what I charge him?

I'm going to extend my psychic powers and guess that the answer will be "no" for the latter part, but then the question moves to, what do I offer him as a wedding present? One thing I was considering doing is that everyone said my pricing structure needed to be ratcheted up by at least a factor of 2, so that the "Basic" package of just covering 2 hrs of ceremony plus formals starts at $600. So I thought I could do that, but then knock off 25% or 50% and say that's the present.