i am lost for certin .....

wgp1987

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello to all ... I am stuck in one of my many curious thoughts and find myself to be lost.

As some may know I won a canon 5d mkII in august of this past summer. This camera is an amazing piece of equipment there is no questioning that but I recently have been thinking it may be too much for someone with my experiance. I never want to bring it to public places and find it too large for everyday snapshots I use to take with my 30d. I wouldn't say I'm a noob to photography but I don't find a need for a full frame slr with video. I am sure with the right glass a more inexpensive camera cannot compare but I feel as if the smaller more comfy 30d that I loved was neglected and I regret selling it (I was broke and had to pay rent somehow). I am not a pro but plan on being a freelance photographer then eventually focusing on sports photography. I feel that I can't afford to invest in the equipment I would want with the 5d. God forbid if I were to damage the unit or need a repair I couldn't afford that either.

My main dilema is this voice in the back of my head saying to sell it and pick up an xsi with 2 or 3 L lenses and use the rest of the cash to pay debts. Am I stupid or crazy for feeling this way?

I wouldn't sell that camera body and go back to an entry level. Smaller and lighter yes, but I think you would miss some of the better features that the 5DM2 offers you. Maybe consider a used 40D or a 50D - a 7D would be more ideal and current for your intended subject areas.

You might also benefit from looking at and getting a second body - maybe get that rebel with some saved money for when you want a smaller lighter camera, but hang onto the 5DM2 for when you need its specific features (like low light and high ISO for which you will not get better for the money)