I give up.

Discussion in 'Off Topic Chat' started by ShutteredEye, Jul 13, 2005.

1. ShutteredEye

ShutteredEye TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It is with profound regret that I type this post. It is often quite hard for me to admit failure, but this is my attempt to do so.

I began taking pictures for myself, and that grew into taking pictures for others. I loved the thought generating emotion and response in others based simply on my images; the same type of reaction I get when I see a great image.

So I started shooting. Took some pictures of my daughter that brought rave reviews. Did a wedding that garnered happy comments. So I sought to improve myself and subject myself to a little peer review. I started posting on the wolf camera "Big Prints Gallery." And that's when it started. 13 submissions and no comments.

So that's how I found this place.

I recently posted some photos I really worked hard on. I was pretty proud, one of the first times I had successfully manipulated the camera in full manual mode, and felt comfortable doing so. 2 comments in the critique gallery. One of them wasn't even a critique about my photo(!!!) but that they wanted to take night pictures.

Yet JonMikal (and no disrespect JonMikal, just using you as an example.) can post a picture that he wasn't he sure was going to turn out because he was laughing too hard, and comments fly. He's out there getting it done, creating that emotional response. (great job, as always Jonmikal.)

So what conclusions do I draw?

1. I'm so awesome that I left everyone speechless. (Not likely.)

2. My photos are so uninteresting they generate that little response.

And #2 my friends, is the best, the only reason to stop trying. I can stand people telling me I suck. I can't stand being boring.

So farewell friends. It was fun getting know you.

Happy trails.

2. elsaspet

elsaspet TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Mountainlander,