I have a Strobe from the 80's--would like to use in '09

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by illstudio, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. illstudio

    illstudio TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vernon CT
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have 2 Photogenic Porta-Master AK20 kits.
    they look like this
    Photogenic Porta Master AK20-PS new light bulb AK30-SC - eBay (item 400035951552 end time Oct-04-09 19:03:06 PDT)

    I used them hard-wired via PC(??) cable to my Nikon F3. Now I have a Canon Rebel XSi. Can I use them? Ive heard something about some PC voltage from older units can damage todays DSLR?

    How do I hook these units up safely w/o spending gobbs of $ too....?
    Steve


     
  2. KmH

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    40,310
    Likes Received:
    5,505
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The beginners forum might not be the best place for this question. ;)

    What voltage will the XSi see?

    Older flash gear has been known to smoke digital cameras.
     
  3. icassell

    icassell No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,900
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  4. DeadEye

    DeadEye TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Use a good voltage meter to see what the voltage is on the sync port of the strobe if it under the rated voltage of the body you are good to go.

    I use old flash unit also but use wizards not a cord.
     
  5. illstudio

    illstudio TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vernon CT
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit


    Sounds good. What do I need? And how is it done?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

porta master ak30

,
porta-master ak20-ps