I Have it Rounded Down to Two - Any Last Words?

GlendaleViper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi folks,

I've been researching cameras for a couple of years(!) now and it's finally time to actually buy. The budget is tight (very tight) but my options have officially been chopped down to two: The Canon 30D and Nikon D80. Here are my personal pros and cons:

Nikon D80
Pros
-Excellent kit lens
-Newer body (and internals) compared to the Canon
-Body seems slightly more sturdy

Cons
-Never shot with Nikon
-Price seems steep
-Takes SD cards

Canon 30D
Pros
-Have shot with Canon for 12+ years
-Excellent ergonomics/access to functions
-Perceived as a better value for the money
-Compact Flash

Cons
-Craptastic kit lens

Anyway, I know it looks as though the Canon wins, but the lens on the Nikon is a fantastic starter whereas with the Canon I'd be looking to upgrade ASAP. Both are extremely close as far as I'm concerned, but as someone who has shot with Canon for so long, it's tough to defect - even without a vested interest in the company (lens collection).

So, I'm interested in the thoughts of any 30D and D80 users! Hell, if you can talk me down to the D50 (discontinued, I know, but the D40 and D40X are not an option due to size and lack of a top LCD) or the 400D, you'll make my wallet very happy!

To the Nikon camp - why should I defect?
To the Canon camp - why should I stay?

Any help is very much appreciated. This is a lot of money for me and my decision will last, since lens collecting will be imminent.

So do you have any Canon EF lenses? If so, the answer is very easy.

Heheheh. Alright, I take it you're a Canon man, then. Sell me dude. Sell me!

[EDIT] No lenses whatsoever. Used to have a few old manual Canon lenses for my AT-1.

I don't like getting into brand wars...but being a Canon shooter...

The Canon has a Canon made CMOS sensor while the Nikon has a Sony made RGB sensor.