I just ordered a 300d! =) *lens question*

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by willg133, Mar 17, 2005.

1. willg133

willg133 TPF Noob!

I am so excited...I have been shooting with a film rebel and a coolpix 5700....this seemed like the next move. I got the kit lens, but I am going to be in the market for a more extreme telephoto zoom soon and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions. This one looks good to me and it takes over where the kit lens leaves off which is convienent.

EF 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 USM II $200

[​IMG]

is that a good lens for me? I am not a pro, but I would like something sharp for big enlargements
    -thanks

2. danalec99

danalec99 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I hope you got a good deal on the 300D...because the 350D was just released and is the upgraded replacement to the 300D.

I don't know about that lens in particular but you should be able to dig up some reviews on the net.

If you really want a sharp lens for big enlargments...cheap zoom lenses are not the way to go. Especially ones that offer a fairly wide zoom range (like 55-200). There are very sharp zoom lenses but they are very expensive...check prices for any Canon lens that has an 'L' in the name. :shock:

The sharpest lenses for the money are prime lenses. Take a look at the 50mm F1.8, 85mm F1.8, 100mm F2 etc.

There are other ways to maximize sharpness for making big enlargements. A tripod & remote shutter release being very important IMO.

Here is a link to all of Canon's EF lenses http://www.usa.canon.com/html/eflenses/lineup/ but don't be afraid to look at Tamron & Sigma lenses as well.

4. Kent Frost

Kent Frost TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit