I just ordered a 300d! =) *lens question*

willg133

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am so excited...I have been shooting with a film rebel and a coolpix 5700....this seemed like the next move. I got the kit lens, but I am going to be in the market for a more extreme telephoto zoom soon and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions. This one looks good to me and it takes over where the kit lens leaves off which is convienent.

EF 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 USM II $200

300600.jpg

is that a good lens for me? I am not a pro, but I would like something sharp for big enlargements
-thanks

I hope you got a good deal on the 300D...because the 350D was just released and is the upgraded replacement to the 300D.

I don't know about that lens in particular but you should be able to dig up some reviews on the net.

If you really want a sharp lens for big enlargments...cheap zoom lenses are not the way to go. Especially ones that offer a fairly wide zoom range (like 55-200). There are very sharp zoom lenses but they are very expensive...check prices for any Canon lens that has an 'L' in the name. :shock:

The sharpest lenses for the money are prime lenses. Take a look at the 50mm F1.8, 85mm F1.8, 100mm F2 etc.

There are other ways to maximize sharpness for making big enlargements. A tripod & remote shutter release being very important IMO.

Here is a link to all of Canon's EF lenses http://www.usa.canon.com/html/eflenses/lineup/ but don't be afraid to look at Tamron & Sigma lenses as well.

Or if you really wanna put some money into it, they've made IS lenses for their DSLRs. 17-85 4-5.6 USM Image Stabilized Lens. Then you could get the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens. You'd have 17-300 covered.

God knows I would love to have the 10-22mm lens for my Digital Rebel. Ultra Wide angle is cool, but hard to get on these things.

EF10-22_586x225.jpg

Will... is that a poliot watch in your avatar?
Kent Frost said: