I need a list of video tutorials for photography

hollyfields

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a beginner photography, but I'm really interested in learning everything about it and really improving until I can master the type of images I have in my head.

My aunt gave me her old Canon 40D since she upgraded, so lucky me.

So I'm looking for some videos (dvd's maybe?) that could help me learn how to master photography, and of the specific camera the 40D.

Any ideas?

Stop being sarcastic.

I've tried google, and it's a hodgepodge of information.

I DONT want to watch videos on youtube.

I am looking for professional dvds that show you information over 3 hours of time. I've seen them in the photography stores, I'm just looking for the best ones in my case.

I can't really help you in finding video tutorials, but if your goal is to learn photography, you should start by reading your camera's manual (you can find it online too if you don't have it), and then read a book or two about photography (depending if that's your kind of medium). But most importantly, start shooting as much as you can!

I think iflynething was joking.

He was :)

Look at Understanding Exposure. Great read.

I like books the best so you don't have to rewind a video or DVD to try on the camera.

As for the 40D specific, look at the Amazon.com: Magic Lantern Guides: Canon EOS 40D (9781600593277): Rob Sheppard: Books guides. They are great at going well beyond the user's manual and explains everything the camera can do. You just have to apply the concepts and get experience.

Honestly, I think your best bet if going and shooting and learning the camera. Learn it without book. Learn it without DVD's. This way a DVD is not teaching you a technique it wants you to know/learn, you are able to find how you shoot and not "by the book."

Hope all goes well.

You BEST post some pictures once you get the hang of it too!

~Michael~

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.