I need an advice

Helslasself

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello!I'm new here. I've been browsing tons of forums for an idea of what to do. I was laid off from my job about 3 month ago. I've been looking for a job since then, but did not even get a single interview. I worked as a web designer for a publishing company for the last 5 years. Looks like The Photo Forum is an active forum with active members and may be someone has some experience working as a freelance web designer. May be this category is not the most appropriate for this question, but I want to try anyways to get some opinions before I go ahead with my life. I'm wondering if it is possible in the current economy to find work for a freelance web designer and make enough to pay for rent and groceries. I was able to find a small project on craigslist and I developed a website for a company. It was a small project and took me only a week to complete. I got paid $800 for 1 week of work which is not bad. Please people give me some ideas. I have 2 kids and my wife is out of work as well. Thank you in advance.

ummm i have no idea.... try some web design fourms... im sure they would give better advice

Web design is a way over populated business. With the number of free web design programs and the people who do it on the web its real tough to make aliving at it. The best thing is to do it locally with face to face customers. Even then I would not rely on it alone, you will need someother related services to go with it.

I'm wondering if it is possible in the current economy to find work for a freelance web designer and make enough to pay for rent and groceries.

Of course it is possible, but it solely depends on the quality of your work and your marketing and not on opinions you may read in internet forums.