I need some help...

Discussion in 'Critique Forum Archives' started by bytch_mynickname, Jun 6, 2006.

1. bytch_mynickname

bytch_mynickname TPF Noob!

I am a beginner and would like your opinion, OTE. Thanks
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. motcon

motcon TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    ty :D

give me a bit to do something w/it(them). i'm not as young as i feel.

3. terri

terri Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    It would also be helpful to let us know why you are seeking critique. Are you satisfied with your images technically, but not aesthetically - or vice-versa?

What do you want the viewer to think of when seeing these?

4. motcon

motcon TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    this is his from a thread in a different forum:

I am new here and to photography beyond a point and shoot. I recently bought a Canon Rebel XT and so far only have the kit lens. I have been practicing and need some constructive criticism. They aren't anything special but I need to start somewhere.

5. motcon

motcon TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    ok, the proboscis wielding fella first.

speaking to composition:

1 - i love the fact that you placed it at the right of the frame. there's sufficient weight on the left to balance its size and color.

2 - my eyes can't help but want a small crop up from the bottom. you can either create 'space' or 'tension'. space doesn't work here. create tension with the edges of the frame. something like this:

[​IMG]

a composition overlay to show you how things align (the red marks are the significant areas of difference):

cropped:

[​IMG]

original:

[​IMG]

3 - see yellow area(s) below:

[​IMG]