I wanna be a PRO.... lol

bnkrecords

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ok, I dont really wanna be a pro, but I would like some help from a seasoned photographer.

I was thinking about upgrading to the D3x or the D700, but the prices are way too high for me without getting some extra glass. So I think I will expand on my D200

My question is, since my glass was broke by the children, I need to start over with the lens, and maybe the lighting system. Currently using SB800, but not much since Im still new to photography.

Im wondering, what should i get? I want to be able to turn my garage into a mini studio, like a set up that Portrait innovations uses. So if you can help me out, what light system, lens', ect ect should I get?

Budget,

As far as the lens' go, i dont want to spend more than 2,000 on glass, and no more than 3,000 on lighting

any suggestions?

also, how do the photographers take the pictures and have it automatically load into the computer a split second later? Is it a certain software?

lots of great questions in here! I'll address this one:

also, how do the photographers take the pictures and have it automatically load into the computer a split second later? Is it a certain software?

YES, is software... you use nikon, so your looking for Nikon Camera Control Pro... its called tethering to your computer... you use a USB cable...

i have my computer setup to automatically import the photos into lightroom after they are taken... camera control pro is set up to send pictures to a certain folder on my computer, and lightroom is set up to automatically import from that fodler when ever there are new pictures in that folder.. its great

as for your budget.. I would say you can get some great equipment with that budget.. i will let the studio pros address that though

lots of great questions in here! I'll address this one: