I would like some honest criticism about some pictures I took...

keythsea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm actually using the editing program that came with the camera (Pentax Q10) and I would like to get some tips on editing and composition. Could you take a look at these pictures and tell me what needs to be improved? Thank you in advance.

Abandoned Building 3.jpg Cans.jpg pipes 2 shrunk.jpg Truck color.jpg IMGP0350.jpg

Ok let me try and give it a go but as I am also a bit of a newbie I might have it wrong. A bit disappointing overall for people starting out not to get a bit of feedback on their work.

Overall none of them really grab me as being that wow factor.

The wall - I seem to be missing any real story behind this one and find that I am not drawen to any particular point in the photo. Is it the texture of the bricks, the white spot or the windows, not really sure.

The two cans - I just see two cans not much else in this one.

The blue thing - I really have no idea what this is.

The truck - This looks like it had a lot of potential however the crop is incorrect. You should have captured the complete truck here. The background also spoils the effect drawing your eyes away from the subject to what you see in the background.. if you could have positioned it so as to not get the cars in the background in the shot it would have been better.

The blue bin - This falls in the center of your shot so you need to try and remember the two thirds rule with shots like this one.

Hope this helps and keep shooting.

5 images, in my opinion, is too many to critique in one sitting. It is for me anyway.

So I'll take image #2 with the cans.

It really looks like you paused and took a picture. It doesn't appear to have any real composition at all. A different angle may have helped a lot (ie get way down low eye level with the cans) and try it to see if it improves.