Im 26!! I need some advice from and experienced photographer

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by vanillllaaa, Apr 19, 2004.

1. vanillllaaa

vanillllaaa TPF Noob!

I want a career change ! im 26 and would like to be a serious studio photographer .. please can someone give me some good advice?? x :roll:

2. MDowdey

MDowdey Guest

hi vanillaaa,

be prepared to have no money to your name....

:p

seriously, make sure you save up because the first years , i hear, are the toughest..

md

3. vanillllaaa

vanillllaaa TPF Noob!

yeah but I dont have to go to college to do that !! not full time ny way ! what do u do for a living ??????? :wink:

4. MDowdey

MDowdey Guest

im a manager for an 8-9 billion dollar bank. i have no college degree...

its not about whether you have a degree or not...its about the need in your area for a studio photog. :lol:

md

5. vanillllaaa

vanillllaaa TPF Noob!

Well . im in central London so yeah .. theres gonna be work everywher.... I just dont know what the first step would be ..... I guess maybe to get an apprentaship on my day off ??? do u know ny studio photographers for magazines ??? :cry: hehe that sounds like a good job by the way !!

6. markc

markc TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'd suggest learning about what a studio photographer does, first. I know several, and they spend very little of their time actually taking pictures. Much of it is actually prep work, from designing the shot to interacting with all the various people who have a say in what is to be produced.

In the movies you only see them firing like machine gun and yelling out "Good! Good! You're georgeous!", but that's just a very small part of what they do.