I'm a Wee Beginner, Don't Be Too Mean :-)

Discussion in 'People Photography' started by CJCarpenter, Apr 27, 2009.

1. CJCarpenter

CJCarpenter TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm such the amateur photographer, I can't stress that enough. I do want to learn and try to improve. I don't need to be told how horrific my photographs are as I can clearly tell that for myself, but any constructive criticism if there is any would be greatly appreciated. Portraiture photography is what I am wanted to focus on learning, so here are some examples of the work I've done... again, I'm not very good at posing people and figuring out light and all that... I have no experience after all.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

...eeek.... questions? ... comments? ... concerns? ... all of the above?

2. suki

suki TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I think overall you've got the right idea but just need to work on the lighting/shadow part of it. I haven't ventured into that whole realm just yet, so I have no idea on how to tell you to correct it for outdoor shots. I have heard that you can use your flash to minimize it, however I tried it once and it didn't look that great!

3. turnbeaugh5

turnbeaugh5 TPF Noob!

You need to use fill flash to take away the shadows on their faces, especially on number 1 and 3. Also, on number 2, the focus seems to be on the tree instead of her, making her a little soft.

4. Chris of Arabia

Chris of Arabia Herding cats since 1988... Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Your biggest concern over 1 & 3 should be the rather harsh lighting. Bright sunlight and the deep shadows it creates don't generally make for good portrait lighting. You'll achieve better results on an overcast day, when the light is softened by cloud cover and your subject isn't squinting. Some fill in flash can help provide a more even light in bright sunlight but won't stop your subject having their eyes all screwed up.