I'm considering buying Sony VAIO laptop. Do you have any experience?

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by petralap, Sep 10, 2006.

1. petralap

petralap TPF Noob!

I'm considering buying a laptop Sony VAIO SZ 220 (Intel core duo 1.83 GHz, RAM of 1GB, hard disc of 120GB) mainly for photo editing. I'm an amature photographer currently traveling for a year around South America. I have to process (select/edit) high number of pictures of very high resolution therefore I need a fast computer. As I travel I need something light.

Sony Vaio (together with Mac) was recommeded to me as a good laptop for graphic/picture editing. It is also extremely light (1.6 kg) and has an carbon and aluminium body.
    I'd prefer PC to Mac as the new MacBook has been reported to have several defaults. It might be good buying it in a year time or so. But I need something reliable now. It is also much havier than Vaio.

Any suggestions/recommendations will be very appreciated.

Many thanks,
    Petra

2. kelox

kelox TPF Noob!

Coming to you live from Planet MAXXUM, home of the
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    this is a decent machine, looks solid although i have no experience with it. i'm sure you'll be happy with it. let us know what you deceide.

3. I just bought that laptop (SZ 280) for the same reason. Light, great monitor, good for photography, prefer Windows. It's got a great keyboard for a fat-finger typist like myself. I'm quite pleased with it. There's a lot of software that it ships with for the purpose of up-selling you to buy it. Uninstall it or at least make sure it's not running in the background using up processor resources. I wish it had a built-in CF card reader, but Sony has their proprietary Memory Stick. Oh well. I have a little PCMCIA - CF card reader that slots in the side.

I recommend this laptop. Just be gentle with it, it's a little more fragile than your standard office laptop.

4. petralap

petralap TPF Noob!