Im new and I need help.

Sep

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Im new to photography and im horrible at it. One thing I cant get right for certain is exposure. I just found out my camera has a built in histogram, but i dont know how to use it and exactly wut it means. I havea Kodak z612. Its probably not the best camera in the world, but its all I have to use. I took these pics today, I cant say their that great either, but could u guys look at them and tell me wut I can improve on? I'd really appriciate any help and support.
Here a link to the pics I took today.
http://s36.photobucket.com/albums/e11/Stop_Touching/Photography/02-25-07/

Shooting snow is probably one of the harder (if not close to the hardest) to meter. Your camera will probably want to underexpose the shot. For instance: 100_0318, possbily 100_309
By the looks of it, the rest are pretty close to being right on. In some the highlights are clipped/blown, but unfortunately the digital latitude is smaller then that of negative film (but argumentatively comparable with slide)

By looking at your EXIF data, I am taking it that it was probably a relatively overcast day/dark day by your shutter speed, ISO, and Aperature. I am not certain, but with your camera are you able to change this settings? If so, try just changing them a bit and seeing if that makes a difference.

Hopefully that helped a little bit :)

Edit: By the way, your composition with the leading lines (such as the path) is excellent.

Shooting snow is probably one of the harder (if not close to the hardest) to meter. Your camera will probably want to underexpose the shot. For instance: 100_0318, possbily 100_309
By the looks of it, the rest are pretty close to being right on. In some the highlights are clipped/blown, but unfortunately the digital latitude is smaller then that of negative film (but argumentatively comparable with slide)