I'm new to the forum and thought I'd share

Matt87109

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the whole hobby, but am enjoying learning so far.

smoke.jpg

cactus.jpg

su.jpg

hey ya matt!
thanks for sharing those pics matey! pretty darn good for someone just starting the hobby (better watch out or it will become an obsession before to long!!)

looks like you live in a nice place to take pics too!

just a really quick critique :)

1. I really dig the clouds here. Tell more about your camera/film. Is this APS film or did you just crop it this way? Anyways I like the panaramic view. The fire/clouds/ are fascinating. hrrm, maybe punch up the colours a bit, the trees on the left are a bit dark - but overall a very nice shot :)

2. I am debating if this one or the one above is my favourite! This one is very cool, albeit slightly busy. Were you trying to focus on the bug? The elemennts that I am attracted to in the picture are the yellow bud and the blue sky. The yellow bud here is quite powerful and I would like to see more of a focus on it, but its a good shot nonetheless! :thumbsup:

3. Good subject. One word though. "Magenta". Looks like its got a bit too much of magenta in the colour balance. Plus those gorgeous eyes are are lost a bit in the dark face. the shadow is falling on its muzzle try a shot from the opposite direction.

Would like to see more of the 'dog' in the picture - its a beautiful beast. The tail and forepaws are cut out of the frame. The top bit of the pic distracts slightly picture. Sorry about being nickpicky on this, I love the subject, so I'd love to see more shots of this dog :)

Cheers, Matt thank you for posting! Hope to see more stuff from ya :)

**note to voocat if he reads this post***
is common to get a magenta tint in your pics if you live out the desert?

Thanks..... I used my 1.3MP Olympus 360L digital. The top shot was a panoramic stitch. These were taken over the last few years.