I'm torn

JongTong

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i dont know which one to get im torn between the Canon 30d and the Nikon D200?

So toss a coin ;)

No offence but we can't (or rather shouldn't) make this decision for you. We might be able to suggest which one (and which system... each camera is only one part of a large system) might be more suitable based on your requirements or priorities... but that's going to be difficult since you haven't told us what your requirements or priorities are. :)

i am a beginner i have been wanting a camera that takes great pictures with out knowing alot but i will be learning as i go and want a camera that i can as i learn use more of the manual settings and i have decided on these two due to the size and the sturdyness of them and i also like the 5 fps continuous shooting

Well you just have to look at my sig, :).

I went to best buy today and felt both and i prefer the 30d's feel and the functionality seems to be better, although i have heard the colors on the d200 are a little richer and more vibrant, not sure if its true though. I couldnt tell a huge difference.

Currently it seems that the 30 d is "the" camera to have. But I personally would probably buy the D200. I'm mulling over that same decision in my head. Of course, I may end up buying a d50 instead and spend the extra cash on nicer lenses.

Go to a store that sells both, Hold them and determine which seems easier for you to use, including the ease of changing settings.
BTW, I'm a Canon user.

Get whatever you like there is no perfect camera for everyone and another Canon vs. Nikon shootout is not going to answer this for you.

I tell yeah, the 30D does feel good in your hands, I've felt it before - but I ultimately went with the D200.

Though honestly, the reason I went with the D200 is A. I already had a D50 B. Already had Nikon glass and C. I know the layout of the Nikon menu system like the back of my hand, the Canon seemed foreign to me.