iMAC

Thru_These_Eyes

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking into purchasing an iMAC this summer. I have heard rave reviews about the iPHOTO program on the laptop. I know I am new to photography, but I am determined to learn HDR photography. Its the most insane photography I've ever seen and apparently the iPHOTO is capable of giving you those true colors to create HDR photography. And just in general I'd like to have to a computer that has a good photoshop program so that I can become more capable and understanding in photoshop.

No Mac nor Windows machine comes with photoshop. You can't learn photoshop by using iphoto. Adobe Photoshop is a different application from Apple IPhoto.

I would first decide whether you want a windows machine or Mac. Then purchase the machine (or perhaps upgrade the one you already have) and purchase the latest version of Photoshop which does support HDR. Adobe photoshop has versions that will run on either Mac or Windows.

macs are deffinatley the way to go with graphics, but deffinatley not because of iPhoto. I've been using mac for 5 years, and still dont use iPhoto, its more or a organizational program, you can do some VERY BASIC touch ups, but not a lot.

deffinatley buy a mac, but dont say iPhoto is yor reason, cause its a bad reason. You will have to buy photoshop, it doesnt come with the mac, nor any windows machine.

iPhoto is just a storage method. It keeps your images in order and has a lot of printing options - but if you are going to do anything with your pictures in the way of manipulation, then you need Photoshop. And if you are using a DSLR then iPhoto won't really be up to that either. I just use it for my little digital Ixus.