Importing photos in lightroom..

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Vinjakoladica, Oct 27, 2017.

  1. Vinjakoladica

    Vinjakoladica TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Belgrade
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have a problem when i want import photos to lightroom. I know how to import, but this is problem..

    This is a photo that i want to edit (raw file):
    [​IMG]

    Then, i open that photo in nikon viewNX2, and change WB and contrast...

    This is now photo:
    [​IMG]

    now the problem starts...

    I want photo with changed WB and contrast to edit in lightroom..

    When i open lightroom, everything is OK, photo is with new WB:
    [​IMG]

    And finally, when i click IMPORT:
    [​IMG]

    Lightroom open first photo, without new WB..

    I dont know what to do... Why lr import photo before editing?


     
  2. benhasajeep

    benhasajeep No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,561
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Eddington, ME
    Why not just use Lightroom to adjust wb and contrast from the start? It's easy And quick.
     
  3. Vinjakoladica

    Vinjakoladica TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Belgrade
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I know, but i like nx2 because of sharpness, nx2 has only one slider and its very easy and doing good job for photos..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. smoke665

    smoke665 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Location:
    Alabama
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I suspect that the only way LR will import your file that you adjusted in another editor with the adjustments is if you save that file as a tiff, after editing then import. Like the above post, why not import and adjust the WB in LR?
     
  5. Vinjakoladica

    Vinjakoladica TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Belgrade
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    thank you smoke665, it works now!

    ...for WB, I read Scott Kelby's, he talked about white balance and mentioned the NX2 for nikon, and i just wanted to try..

    And one more time thank you, smoke!
     
  6. smoke665

    smoke665 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Location:
    Alabama
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If ACR supports your camera, I would bypass the extra step and go straight to LR. As to setting WB, I do this. In library mode select all the photos in the series > Go to Develop mode > On the first photo (or any photo your choose) go to the eyedropper>
    1234.JPG
    Hover over the white in the image and click. LR will adjust the Temp and Tint for you. If you don't like the adjustment you can manually adjust the sliders or click on another area. When your happy with the WB on this photo> Make sure all your photos in the series are still selected > go to synch button at the bottom of the Develop panel and click on it
    12345.JPG
    In the next window, click on UNCHECK ALL, then click on just the WB, and ok. All of your photos in the series will now have the same WB
     
  7. Vinjakoladica

    Vinjakoladica TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Belgrade
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I know for that :allteeth:, i only had a problem with importing photos...
     
  8. smoke665

    smoke665 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Location:
    Alabama
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    I had issues early on with LR, as my Pentax K3II wasn't supported yet, so I would go to the mfg software make my initial adjustments then import, but later upgrades included my camera model. Since then I didn't find sufficient difference to warrant the extra step.
     

Share This Page