In Camera Light Meter

Dionysus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
pardon the question, but I AM a newbie, but I am going off of the book "understanding exposure". It says for scenes w/ lots of greenery , that i should meter off a big block of green, then recompose and take the shot w/ the exposure settings gained from metering off the green. The problem is when i did that (ad nauseum today) the pic would come out really dark, and underexposed.

Understanding exposure also said that when there is a big blue sky out to meter off of the sky, recompose and take the shot based on the exposure settings gained from metering off the sky. The same thing happens to me doing that as w/ the green. The sky will come outfine, but the rest of the shot will come out underexposed.

am i doing something wrong?

Sorry I can't help you with this. Just wanted to confirm that after reading that and also hearing it mentioned and suggested on this forum, I do that very often and it always works for me.

Example, when I am out in the yard with my kids and have the camera, I will put it in manual, meter off either the grass or the sky (I meter 180 degrees or so from the sun) and leave my settings there while shooting off photos of the kids.

Dionysus I've also read that book. Twice so far. But if I understand right he's taking a meter reading off of the brightest area of the shot your taking, that you dont overexpose your subject. It may depend on what your shooting and the area your shooting into. Like if you take a meter reading off the sky but then your subject is hidden in a shadow their going to come out severely underexposed.
I had to read the whole book to understand this a little better. Including all his captions for the pictures he's taken. After reading it this second time through I understood a little more.