Indoor Flash Help

Natalubug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I'm very new to SLR photography. I've read several books on photography and feel that I understand the relationship between ISO, shutter speed, and aperture. I recent got a Canon XTi and so far have been pleased with it. Though, the more I learn, the more questions I have :) Anyways, over the weekend I was at a party inside a resturant and was having problems getting a correct exposure using the in camera flash. I was using aperture priority mode, forced the flash on, and set the camera to ISO 400 and F/4. However, the camera selected too long of a shutter speed and my pictures were overexposed. I think this is because it did not compensate for the flash. So I guess my question is if I'm using the flash in low light, how do I know what shutter speed to select? Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

Firstly, the shutter speed has no actual affect on the exposure from the flash. The flash is much faster than the shutter so you could use a shutter speed of 1/200 or 1/20...and it wouldn't change the exposure from the flash.

Now, the problem you are having is because of the way the camera is programed to act/meter in Av mode. When in Av mode, the camera will meter for the ambient light and try to expose for that...even if you turn the flash on. The camera thinks you only want the flash for fill light. However, because it's rather dark, you need the flash for more than fill...but because you are in Av mode...the camera doesn't know that.

The easy solution is to use P mode in this situation. I will probably set the shutter to 1/60 and use a larger aperture...which would probably not be enough light for an ambient exposure...so the flash will light up your subjects.