Indoors + People = Arrgh! (Advice request!)

AnotherChris

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.shuangxi-in-spring.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum, but I've been using my camera for about 18 months now. I don't have the opportunity to practice all that much and I have one particular weak spot that is driving me crazy. I can't seem to find a balance of flash/not flash/settings to take decent pictures of people indoors. I go to a few conventions a year and about half my pictures either end up overly dark or totally washed out.

I'm using a Nikon D40 with a Vivitar 400Z flash. As for lenses, I have the AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G, AF-S Nikkor 55-00mm f/4-5.6G, and the AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G that came with the body.

I tend to only use the manual setting and tweak everything as I need it from shot to shot. In the environments I'm having problems with, I can't lug around any large reflectors or softboxes and the diffuser I have for the lens doesn't do a whole lot to eliminate the harshness of using the flash. I would very much appreciate any advice that you folks could share on how to improve my indoor picture taking.

Unfortunately, I don't have an example of my washed out images as I tend to delete them. Below is a no-flash image taken to illustrate the other end of the spectrum though.

The ceiling is pretty low. Just bounce it off the ceiling.

The ceiling is pretty low. Just bounce it off the ceiling.

+1

I'm not familiar with your particular type of flash, but unless it can swivel and tilt...you're really handicapping yourself. If you must keep the flash on camera (and can't use it remotely) then bouncing off the ceiling is about your best option to diffuse the light.

Try adjusting just the flash exposure. If using ttl perhaps your metering mode isnt set properly, so the camera is giving more flash than needed.

If you can bounce the flash, bounce it. And learn how to drag the shutter.