Infrared

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by iluvphotography, Jun 8, 2006.

1. iluvphotography

iluvphotography TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    OK this question might sound stupid, and you guys might even ban me from this site for asking this, but I am new to photography and I am still learning...and I must say I have learned a lot from this site....

I really like the look of infrared pictures, although I am not sure what is the technology behind it... I know it has something to do with the type of the film and the filter... But I was wondering if it will be possible to get the same effect with digital or is it something that can be done in Photoshop?

2. fotogenik

fotogenik TPF Noob!

Here is a link that explains a little bit about digital infrared.

http://www.bermangraphics.com/digicam/d70-infrared.htm

http://www.pbase.com/lasombradelosdiablos/nikon_d50_infrared_ir

This one is specific to a Nikon D70 but the same principles apply to all digital infrared. The big difference is how sensitive a specific camera is to infrared light, some mfgs are using better (for visual photo's anyway) infrared filters over the sensor of their camera's which makes the camera's less sensitive to infrared light.

3. Mohain

Mohain TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Digital IR.

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50784

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46933

You will need:

A Hoya R72 filter.
    A graphics program that can swap the red and blue channels of your RGB image.
    Custom white balance taken from some grass, with the filter on.
    To deal with the hotspot your lens/filter combo is bound to make.

I used a Fuji s9500 (s9000 in US) to produce these shots. Nikon DSLRs are supposed to be good at IR, Canons less so. Some lens/filter combos produce a hotspot too hot to handle! Google for digital IR for more info.

Cheers,

Mohain

4. iluvphotography

Photos OK to edit