doskophoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.doskophoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I'm new to this forum and happy to be here with people that have the same passion as mine.

I wanted to find out what you all think about people using your photos on Instagram, tagging you or not without your permission.
I am an outdoor photographer and do a lot of kayak fishing work.
Recently, I asked a prospective client if he would like me turn one of my trips into a photoshoot for his brand of pfd. I gave him a pretty good rate even for the outdooor industry. He thought about it, had me send pfd sizes for the guys and create a treatment for him then at the last minute decided to back out saying that the it wasn't in his budget.
I went on the trip and got some awesome photos then posted a blog with my favorite images which is what I normally do so that my friends can look at and use the images for their social media. Then not 1 but 4 different companies took the images that my friends had posted and used them for their social media.

The company that I had asked to join us on the shoot used 3 images on Instagram. Cropping into my logo on 2 and cropping out my logo on one completely then not tagging me as the photographer in one. I called the marketing manager and left a message. After 2 days went by with no return call, I sent an invoice for the 3 images. $100 for the tagged and $150 for the not tagged photo. $350 total. Two days later the social media guy for the company hit pm'ed my buddy that he took the images from and slandered my name saying that I sent a "nasty" email and told him that I charged them $3oo a shot.