Interchangability of Negative Carriers??

aynyc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been taking both 35mm and medium-format 120 film photos from quite some time. Since I've gotten tired of having my film digitally processed and printed (on cheap-o digital paper) for a small fortune, I've decided to go old-school and do my own darkroom printing, and I'm a complete amateur when it comes to this.

From my research so far I have a pretty fair understanding of how the enlargers work (I'm gonna go with a color dichroic so I don't have to mess with color filters), that I need to have the appropriate carriers and lenses for each film format, and that the enlarger has to be able to handle at least medium-format (6x6) carriers if I want to print my 120's.

I've found both a Berkey Omega c760 and a Saunders LPL 67d. The Saunders comes with a 50mm lens and carrier for 35mm film and it practically unused, so it's my first choice. However, while the Berkey doesn't come with a lens, I'm planning on buying an 80mm lens anyway for larger formats.

So here's my question: Either way I'll need to purchase a 6x6 carrier. I'm finding a lot of carriers that are less expensive for "omegas" while the carriers for "lpl" are much more expensive. But I've seen that Saunders and Omega are both names of importers for the same enlargers. So would a 6x6 Omega negative carrier also fit the Saunders? Or would I be better off buying the omega since the parts available are cheaper? Or does it just come down to whether the carrier is for a "c-series" or "d-series" regardless of the make? Sorry if this is actually very simple but after hours of research I'm getting overwhelmed by models and numbers and parts etc..