Interested in MFD, Equipment suggestions

bazooka

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.dirtjournal.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, it's a been a loooooong time since I've posted here. A lot has happened since. I'm a full time artist now selling my landscape photography. It's been fantastic. Anywho.....

I've been shooting a 5d mk2 and am overall pleased with it, but I'm printing up to 50x38 on canvas now, and while I've even blown a 40D capture to that size and it looks decent, I want it to look stellar up close. I've done some stitching and am pleased with the result, but I just don't want to mess with it. I'd rather see the entire image in the viewfinder than having to imagine what it will look like, and not have to worry about parallax error or mis-matched focus.

So I'm interested in switching to MFD as my main rig. I've been reading a lot the past few days and am a little overwhelmed with both the prices and the options. Here is what I think I need, and what I think I don't need:

Landscape only and still life only.
I shoot from tripod always.
I could get by with manual focus, as I like to take my time with each shot.
Speed is not critical.
Usually shoot base ISO.
Ability to work with speedlights and leaf shutters a plus, but not mandatory.
I do a lot of post work in PS... masked contrast adjustments and such.
Shoot both color and B&W.
I might be getting wet and cold.
I'd like to have the option to upgrade to a higher res back later.
Have never worked with film.
Prefer used equipment.
I'd like to keep the price to less than $4k.