Interior Photography Lens?

Elite Realty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a Realtor that takes interior pictures all the time. My photography skills lack quite a bit, but I recently purchased a used Canon EOS D30 to upgrade from the simple point and shoot cameras I'd used in the past. The Canon came with a Sigma 28-80mm lens. I had thought that I would be able to get a wider angle picture (help those little rooms be the big rooms they've always dreamed of being) with this lens, but comparing pictures from my old camera to the Canon show that I'm clearly wrong. I have now picked up on the fact that there is a "crop factor."

My question is what lens would be acceptable to get a wider shot for my interior pictures? It seems the "fish eye" lenses are cheaper and I could possibly crop the picture to work for my needs, but I definitely don't want a distorted look to them. I still don't fully understand what my options are, so any advice that could be given would be greatly appreciated.

(And my photos will never be printed professionally, so I'm not looking for the world here. Thanks!)

Here is what a 17mm on a 1.5 Focal length Digital looks like.

DRHorton014.jpg

A light weight tripod would also go nicely with that kit lens suggested above.

Turn on interior lights
Flash off
Relatively small aperture (high aperture number) for good DOF
mounted on a tripod (so slow shutter speeds will not be an issue)

.. all to leverage natural lighting and to avoid the artificial look of a flash gun.

You need to go wider than than 18mm and the D30 WILL NOT work with EF-S lenses such as the 18-55. Tokina I think has a verson of their 12-24 f/4 that will work on the EF mount, and that's what you should use.

I use the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5. It's the most expensive but it also the best. It requires little or no post processing. The images are amazing.