International Travel- Do you confess you are on photo business?

bluewaterjon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.bluewaterjon.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I travel a lot internationally on business shoots (mostly to Central America, including Panama, Nicaragua, Guatemela, and Costa Rica) and the last time I came back from Panama - as in, when I was re-entering the US-the guys at customs pulled me aside and gave me a hard time. They wanted to know if I was on a business trip.
I have never had a problem coming back into the States (I've always said I was a hobbyist and never been bothered), but this time they were not happy. They didn't believe that I was a hobbyist, and I can't blame them, I simply have way too much gear- 4 bodies, maybe 8 lenses, and an underwater housing as well, plus enough stuff like chargers and supporting gadgets to make it look like I just robbed a store.
I have never been stopped before, I just simply declare that I was on vacation and if they ask ( this is when re-entering the US) why I have the gear, I say that I am an avid shooter. Until last time....
I want to know what you do, if you lug around a ton of gear. My photogear backpack and two pelican cases have my url and business name on them also. Am I supposed to tell them I am on a business shoot by indicating that on the blue customs form they give me on the plane, and then pay a tax, or what? What do others do who bring so much gear that they are beyond the point of being able to deny they are on a photo business trip to the people at US customs? Was the only reason they seemed to hassle me because I was obviously not being straightforward, or was I suppoed to be doing something to make it legit with them?
Thanks very much in advance
Jon Schwartz
Jon Schwartz: Fishing and travel articles, photography, and big fish photos
Blog: Jon Schwartz's Blog: Fishing Articles, Photography, and Travel

Last edited: