IR Filters, on DSLR question?

benaccent

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was looking for an Ir filter for my D50, and read that they will only work with cameras that have B&W mode. Is this true? or are there filters you can get that are ok to use with my camera to give the same effect

I am still pretty new to this so was just looking for a little help.

The D50's low-pass filter blocks UV and IR light. Even if you put on a filter, the camera eliminates so much of the IR light that you'd need to do very long tripod exposures even in bright light. The Hoya R72's typically the reccomended filter, however, if you want to try.

The D50 is great for IR. I do a lot with mine, here's one from last weekend - http://static.flickr.com/86/214663137_b08f31b082_o.jpg

The Hoya R72 is the most popular and easy to use. Make sure you have a tripod too because you'll need .5-3 second exposures typically in sunlight depending on conditions.

Make sure to shoot in RAW mode. The photo will come out all super-red saturated, but one click of the white-balance dropper tool in Rawshooter or the equivalend in Adobe Lightroom and the colors will come to life. If you shoot in JPG you'll be stuck with a bloody red image that you can't really do much with. some people use manual whitebalance by taking photos of grass - I consider this a pain and never got it to work for me (just shoot RAW, it's really easy that way.)

Shallow IR filters like the Hoya R72 (which passes 720nm on up) produce nice pseudo-color, but if you use a deep filter like an 87C (that doesn't start passing until 850nm) your image will come out purely monochrome. Anything darker than an R72 will be very hard to use on an unmodified camera and bump exposure times to 10 seconds or more in sunlight.

Hope this helps. Have fun.

yea, I use a D50 with my Hoya R72...... works great..... here's a link to my most recent pics.....

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56984