Is a Nikon D40 capable...

as a d40 owner myself, i can say that the d40 is capable of taking photos like that.

i would agree.

its getting the location right and the light.

im am going to ask her some questions in a thread watch out for it:D

that's good to hear!
I've been taking pictures of things in my room and it didn't come out so great, maybe I will have better luck taking pictures outdoors.

No camera will make you into a good photographer. Crap photos are crap, good photos are good, regardless of the tool used.

of taking pictures such as the ones taken by Rachel Fellig on this thread?

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=111612

I just received the D40 as a birthday present (so I'm a complete beginner), and I'm really wanting to take pictures like those! :)

Absolutely yes but you will need the correct lens. Note the "selective focus" in many of the shots. Subject crystal clear but background blurred. To do that, you need a lens that opens up fairly wide. Generally, this will not be a zoom lens. (You "zoom" by moving closer to or further frum the subject.) As a wild guess, I'm thinking that the lens was a 50 mm f/1.4 (US$350). You could probably do almost the same thing with the amateur version, the 50 mm f/1.8 (US$90).

Be forewarned that neither of these lenses will focus automatically on your camera. You need to rotate the ring yourself until the subject appears clear. The camera has an indicator that will confirm that the focus is correct.

Absolutely yes but you will need the correct lens. Note the "selective focus" in many of the shots. Subject crystal clear but background blurred. To do that, you need a lens that opens up fairly wide. Generally, this will not be a zoom lens. (You "zoom" by moving closer to or further frum the subject.) As a wild guess, I'm thinking that the lens was a 50 mm f/1.4 (US$350). You could probably do almost the same thing with the amateur version, the 50 mm f/1.8 (US$90).