Is Canon in Trouble?

benjikan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Just an opinion. I think Canon has gone off track recently and are in the process of loosing clients due to their recent complacency. Nikon is now number one in Japan and Pentax have taken an even larger market share of 12.8 percent.

Just my take.

Ben

I think neither Canon nor Nikon are going to be in any trouble in the near future. There will always be fluctuations in market shares, they are all fighting for those shares actively.

Cannot see much difference in Canon and Nikon regarding marketing and how they treat customers ;)

BTW, just realised now, that your avatar is so damn similar to mine! :p

I'm not very good at following business news but I can't really see Canon being in trouble even if they're losing a bit of market share. Fact is most people (here in the UK at least and it seems to apply elsewhere) immediately think "Canon" or "Nikon" when it comes to photography. Every shop that sells digital SLRs sells Canon digital SLRs. I've spoken to shop staff who don't like dealing with Canon but not selling them is simply not a realistic option.

A lot of people like the little Rebels, and people able to invest more in photography understandably like full-frame sensors, the quality of the higher-end models, IS technology. The low price of some of the primes alone is quite a compelling factor. Not to mention availability. We don't even need to mention professionals; with respect you are in a minority in not using Canon or Nikon, and in many areas of professional photography there are good reasons for this. So there are plenty of really good reasons why Canon's products fly off the shelves, then of course there are the psychological reasons - the name brand itself, plus of course the magical effects of printing "L" on a lens... so no, I don't see why Canon would be in any real trouble.