is CMOS better than DX RGB sensor?

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by spazmonkeyy, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. spazmonkeyy

    spazmonkeyy TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    looking for some input on this whole sensor stuff?

    I noticed that the Canon XTi uses the hailed CMOS, but
    its rival...the Nikon D40x uses a DX RGB sensor.

    is there anything better or worse about either regarding
    quality of image?
     
  2. shorty6049

    shorty6049 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    i thought the nikon used a CCD sensor...


    in any case, i'm sure CMOS is probably better....
     
  3. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Err no. You can argue the merits of CMOS vs CCD all day. The fact is one runs at a lower voltage then the other. That's about where the non-technical differences end. In terms of quality there are good and bad implementations of both. However the move recently is towards CMOS sensors.

    RGB is the colour format and that's not quite right. Nikon, Canon and all but sigma use a RGBG Beyer array filter. Sigma use a ??Fovern?? or something like that filter where each pixel picks up full colour.

    DX is the sensor size. DX = APS-C which is the same as All canons except for the 5D, and 1Ds cameras, and all Nikons except for the D3 FX
     
  4. shorty6049

    shorty6049 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    foveon*
     
  5. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    :) I was much closer than I thought I was. Thanks.
     
  6. brileyphotog

    brileyphotog TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm pretty sure that Nikon uses/has used both CCD and CMOS sensors, depending on the model. I think most of their P&S cameras have CCD sensors.
     
  7. lifeafter2am

    lifeafter2am TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The D3 and D300 both use CMOS sensors.
     
  8. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    And just to completely screw with your minds the D2H used a JMOS sensor ;)
     
  9. kobayashi

    kobayashi TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cacak, Serbia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Also D2X and D2Xs use some Nikon implementation of CMOS sensor, supposedly produced by Sony (completely or partially), named JFET-LBCAST (Lateral Buried Charge Accumulator and Sensing Transistor array).
    It is roumored that Nikon FX sensor is also developed by Nikon and is based on this sensor, but there are no confirmations that the sensor is produced by Sony. However, some claim that only chips are made by some other company, while implementations of microlens and other things are done by Nikon.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cmos rgb

,
cmos vs ccd sensor
,

cmos vs dx

,

cmos vs dx sensor

,
cmos vs. dx
,
dx cmos
,
dx rgb cmos sensor
,

dx vs cmos

,

dx vs cmos sensor

,
rgb cmos