Is my new lens defective? Rokinon 12mm manual. Pictures inside...

mikej411

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just purchased the Rokinon 12mm lens to use with my Sony a6000. After testing this lens out and comparing it to the A6000 kit lens, I come away wondering if there is a defect in the Rokinon. The reasons will be stated below with picture examples. Sorry in advance if I just don't know what I am doing haha, as I am a beginner.

Ok the first thing I noticed when taking a picture in intelligent auto with the kit lens, it makes the colors so much bolder (better contrast?), than when taking a picture in intelligent auto with the Rokinon lens. When in Intelligent Auto, does the A6000 do some sort of processing of the image with the kit lens that it can not do with the Rokinon?

Here is the kit lens picture. See the camera settings in the comments on dropbox: Dropbox - DSC09634 Sony Auto 8F.JPG

Here is the Rokinon lens picture. See the camera settings in the comments on dropbox: Dropbox - DSC09638 Rok Auto 8F.JPG

Notice that the grass and also the tree on the left has so much more color and contrast in the kit lens picture. They were taken with the same aperture and almost the same ISO and Exposure time. Couldnt match them up exactly because it was intelligent auto, but thats close enough for there not to be that much of a difference as you see in the picture. Every time I take a picture with the kit lens in intelligent auto vs taking a picture with the kit lens in other modes, the colors come out so much bolder and better. And no matter what mode I take a picture with for the Rokinon (even intelligent auto), I dont get that bold color as with the kit lens using Intelligent auto.