Is my roll of film ruined?

Stacie1989

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to film photography. I have always worked with digital, but I am enrolled in a photography class at my college that works with film.

I just finished my roll of film today, and my camera sounded odd when it was rewinding the film back into the canister. I opened the back of my camera, and my film was indeed, not rewound. Somewhat in shock (I had just exposed my film..) I shut the back again, and my camera ended up RELOADING the film back into my camera! It then displayed that I had 36 frames available- these were the frames that I had already taken. I (stupidly) opened the back again, shut it, I took a blank, and then rewound the film again. This time it did it correctly. However, the film had been back at the beginning when I opened the back, and my film was exposed. Did this ruin all of the pictures I had previously taken?

That's what I expected :(

Thanks for the quick reply, though.

Last edited:
That's probably why it's a good reason to get a totally manual camera for those classes as you have to rewind the film yourself.

Incidentally, some of the frames may be okay if you didn't leave the back open too long.

I would trash it, you cannot re-use film. You could have it processed just to see how it looks, some of the first shots you took may just be usable but they will have light streaks down them that probably make them useless.

If something similar ever happens again only open the camera back in total darkness, you can then use touch to see what the problem is. If necessary you can remove the film from the camera and rewind it by hand.

Total darkness means just that, a dark room is not enough, it has to be completely sealed against all light. A changing bag is best for this.

I have no idea what happened. The camera has rewound other films just fine. Never had a problem with it.