Is shooting in "P" mode ok?

mrshaleyberg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still learning about how to shoot in Manual..

Shooting in "P" mode all you have to change is ISO and the camera automatically does the f/stop and shutter speed. Is this better than shooting in Auto?

instead of trying to shoot in M, shoot in Aperture or Shutter priority, you learn far more doing that than you will shooting in P (which is a glorified auto) and stands in as the auto in pro-sumer dslr (im certain of) and higher end models (assuming they have a P)..

learn the influence the aperture number (f-stop) and the shutter speed have on your images, with those two nailed down, you can move onto M (even then M is usually only used when aiming for a specific effect where A and S would not work to achieve it).

i shoot in P when shooting outdoors using fill flash sometimes. also when im walking around with my camera i keep it on P so that if something comes along to where i would need to take a pic and fast its already set up. i wont have to worry about if the settings are right to get the pic. i use A, S, and M when i am taking planned shots.

bhee makes a good point that i forgot to realise. as a walk-about setting P is great. but if you really want to get the hang of M, rather fiddle with A and S mode as using P wont help you understand it any better as you're not really in control of the settings..

out of topic: bhee how did you get your D60 gripped?

Aperture priority is how I like to shoot when I don't want to think about shooting but you need to understand whats going on with the camera when you encounter different scenarios.

I think it's important for people to play around with their camera and just take photos, nothing special just photos of anything. Try different ISOs, shutter speeds and apertures and see how photos come out. Pets, flowers, trees or really anything that doesn't move too much can be your subject.