Is the Ritz girl feeding me bs or...

Lisaspank

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok so I have to start out that I have an Olympus E 410 that I bought with kit lenses. It came with 14-42mm and 40-150 Zuiko lenses.

I went in to Ritz Camera this afternoon and asked if there were any wide angle lenses for the e410. She proceeds to look thru a magazine and then the computer and comes up with this answer.

Well you can buy the 14-42mm or we can special order a 14-54mm.

Hmmm well my camera already came with the smaller lense, so does this make it a wide angle??

Im so confused!

Like I said Im a complete beginner...I dont really understand what qualifies a lens as wide angle other than I LOVE how the pics come out.

So any ideas if she really knows what she is talking about?

Thank you both for the links. I like the ones on the olympus website and they are definetely in a decent price range. The professional ones...not so much. :(

So can someone explain to me what makes the lens wide angle? Is it the mm measurement so the smaller the numbers the more 'distorted' the shot will come out meaning wideangle?

Also I did a quick search on ebay for olympus digital wide angle lenses and it still brings up my kit lens that is 14-42. So then my kit lens can be used as wide angle??? I just am not getting it for some reason. :(

Also can you purchase different brand lenses that will work with the olypus? How can you tell?

Thanks again for the quick replies. I am learning so much here! :D

Thank you both for the links. I like the ones on the olympus website and they are definetely in a decent price range. The professional ones...not so much. :(

So can someone explain to me what makes the lens wide angle? Is it the mm measurement so the smaller the numbers the more 'distorted' the shot will come out meaning wideangle?