is there really any reason to go full frame?

dustinpedley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
If I dont need craze high ISO or crazy high MP rates?

I was looking at a 50D vs a 5D MK II

I have had both and prefer the full frame. Granted my last FF was a 5D and the 1DMK3 beats it down on both speed and features, there is something about he FF that stands out. It all depends on what you do. Moving subjects? lean towards the crop sensor. Portraits, still subjects, you can go either way but will be more delighted with FF.
No correct answer, just my experience.

regards,

jim

Not unless you're a fashion photographer at the top of your field. The DX format has come a long way. As for me, I'm an experienced amateur and I expect to remain so. I do have a lot of film experience so I'm still learning how to convert my thinking from FX to DX.

No you don't. And there's even benefit of going DX in your case then. Lenses are smaller, equipment is lighter, and an 18mm lens is the same price as a 24mm lens, but a 200mm lens is far cheaper than a 300mm lens, giving you a cost advantage if you're into long range telephotography.

Go full frame only if you need to. High ISO / ludicrous sizes aside, you can not tell a print from a 50D apart from a 5DMkII.

A 5DmkII *is* full frame and over 24MP... so wouldn't that disclude it immediately from your possible "buy list" based on your2 listed criteria??

A word of advice. YOU need to decide what YOU want. The instant that you leave an important decision such as what are your needs or will (whatever item) fit your needs to someone else, you are guaranteeing a huge case of buyer's remorse.

Don't be lazy, find out YOUR needs are and get the item that fits YOUR needs.