Is this a good idea for getting my name out there?

shotgunshooter3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay folks, thus far photography has just been a hobby for me... But I have quickly gone from a complete noob with a Canon SX100 in December to being in the near final stages of purchasing my first DSLR. I am also planning in majoring in something to do with photography at this point in time.

Anyway, I have considered doing some photography work for pay on the side, however I lack both the experience and the reputation to do so effectively right now. To change this, I cooked up the following plan and would like input from all of you. Is this a decent idea, or am I foolish/naive/completely daffy/etc...

I will put a few fliers out advertising that I am an amateur photographer willing to do some events or portraits (prefer events) free of charge in the vicinity of my home town. All I will ask in return is that the "customer" spread my name via word of mouth.

I will provide a basic service, photograph the event and put the images on a CD/DVD (edited of course) with a watermark bearing my information. It will then be up to the "customer" to have prints made at their own cost and on their own time.

I will have this go for a certain time period, and depending on interest either cease or start charging a fee.

So, does this seem like a feasible idea? I love doing photography, especially events, so I wouldn't consider it really "time lost" since it'll be enjoyable.

It's always good to have a plan...and it's good that you are thinking ahead. That being said...
But I have quickly gone from a complete noob with a Canon SX100 in December to being in the near final stages of purchasing my first DSLR.
It sounds like you still have a long way to go and probably a lot to learn. So don't get too far ahead of yourself.