Is this any good?

Abby Rose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm debating on purchasing something like this neutral density filter: 74mm ND8 Neutral Density Filter for Sony DSC-H50 H9 H7 - eBay (item 380130264134 end time Mar-06-10 18:11:46 PST)

But it is only around $10, which makes me wonder about its quality. The thing is, its the only kind I've found that fits my camera (Sony Cyber-shot DSC H50).

It's not like I need the best, I just want to play around and learn about using filters sometime in the future. But I don't really want absolute garbage, either.

What do you think? Remember, I am a complete beginner.

Last edited:
As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
You dont have to break the bank to buy a filter, but for $10 I think it wouldnt be worth it. The photos you take with it will all be affected by the quality of that filter. I know that the Hoya Pro1 Digital filters are of a very good quality, but those usually hover around the $75-$100 mark.

Can I ask what you want the filter for?

$10 for a learner filter......I'd do it. Once you know what you're doing and get a bit more serious with it, then spend the money.

Basically, I want it to learn how to use filters. I'm having fun with long exposures at night, so I'd like to try some longer day time exposure.

I'm also interested in graduated nd filters, but I dont think they make the plate kind for my camera, which are hear are better. But they do make round ones that are cheap, and I'm debating if I should get one of those... It'll take some thinking.

I'm also interested in graduated nd filters, but I dont think they make the plate kind for my camera, which are hear are better. But they do make round ones that are cheap, and I'm debating if I should get one of those... It'll take some thinking.